Can Nature talk to you?

Throughout my travels at Chassahowitzka WMA, I have seen a good share of wildlife. A wonderful variety of birds, gentle deer and a magnificent black bear, however I still have quite a few on my photo list.

Follow your gut… at first I was going to drive down Gopher road, but decided to turn around after a gut feeling to go towards the three bridges. Barred Owl 3

Going super slow and looking all around, I seriously could have missed this owl camouflaged within the cypress trees. This owl was so patient, just looking around, looking at me and gave me enough time to photograph.

I was so nervous that this owl was going to take off I didn’t want to take my eye off the viewfinder. Not happy with the outcome of these photos but the experience made up for it.

Red-Shoulder Hawk
Red-Shoulder Hawk | Chassahowitzka WMA | Photo by Alice Mary Herden

Have you ever felt like nature talks to you?  I know this sounds strange, but that is how I feel when I am at Chassahowitzka WMA. She tells me where to go and what to see.


9 more months…

Leave a Reply

